I’ve been listening to Pandora this past month, looking for songs to sing at a couple of events that are coming up next month. Here is a small list so far:

Blush (Only You) – Plumb
The Blower’s Daughter – Damien Rice
Stranded – Plumb
We Have Forgotten – Sixpence None The Richer
We Will Trust You – Ginny Owens
Don’t Pass Me By – Maeve
Hello – Evanesence
In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel
Beautiful Scandelous Night – Sixpense None The Richer
Sufficient – Adie
Falling Slowly – Glen Hansard

Granted some of the songs I study are from some of my favorite singer/songwriters (Adie, Leigh Nash). Some songs I just enjoy listening to. I can only do so much with a guitar.

But there are a few songs I find that are not worship songs or praise music. I find songs that are calling out, cries to someone. I always hear it from Linkin’ Park’s music, especially What I’ve Done. And I heard it from this song from Paramore:

I am outside, and I’ve been waiting for the sun,
with my wide eyes. I’ve seen worlds that don’t belong,
my mouth is dry with words I cannot verbalize,
tell me why we live like this?

Keep me safe inside, your arms like towers;
tower over me.

Yeah, because we are broken. What must we do to restore
our innocence and all the promise we adored?
Give us life again cause we just wanna be whole.

Lock the doors, because I’d like to capture this voice,
that came to me tonight, so everyone will have a choice and under red lights, I’ll show myself it wasn’t forged. We’re at war, we live like this.

Keep me safe inside, your arms like towers;
tower over me.

Because we are broken, what must we do to restore
our innocence and all the promise we adored?
Give us life again cause we just wanna be whole.

Tower over me, tower over me
and I’ll take the truth at any cost.

Because we are broken, what must we do to restore
our innocence and all the promise we adored?
Give us life again cause we just wanna be whole.

