It’s funny how we can get revelations in the oddest places.

I was in my African American Literature class. We were talking about how African American slaves had to change their image from the “old Negro to the new Negro”. The old Negro was defined by the people around them. The new Negro had to redefine themselves.

I didn’t really think about the meaning until this morning. I got out of bed, and the first word that came to my mind was “definer”.

The defined and the definer can be applied to every part of life. In our younger years we start defining each other by the people we hung out with. Sadly, the defining doesn’t stop in high school like we all believed. We are constantly defined by our career, the choices we make, even our habits.  Being defined by others tends to place you in a position you can’t get out of. We strive to receive the best definition, but there’s no way we can do this alone.

I’m so glad I am not defined by the things I do. I am defined by what God says I am.

Galatians 4:6Because you are his sonsGod sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba, Father.”

Romans 8:17Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

