I was listening to Chris Tomlin’s song Your Grace Is Enough:

I have a problem singing that song. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great song. I love the verses. But it’s the chorus that bothers me.

“Your grace is enough for me”. It’s as if we deserve God’s grace, like we expect it from Him. God gave us this amazing grace. We don’t deserve it. In Ephesians 1:7 (NIV) it says “In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace.” (By the way, Ephesians 1 is an amazing chapter). He could have wiped out the whole human race and start over, but he didn’t.

So when I sing “Your grace is enough” I want to change the words and say “Your grace is MORE than enough” and ” Your grace is UNDESERVING”. God’s grace is more than just “enough”. It’s something we could never have attained without Jesus.

