I was listening to Carlos Whitaker’s EP this morning, and the third song titled “We Will Worship You” made me start thinking. Here’s the chorus:

Save us from these comforts
Break us of our need for the familiar
Spare us any joy that’s not of You
And we will worship You

And I thought to myself, “Now that’s a difficult song to sing”.

Most of the time we don’t pay attention to the words we are singing in a Sunday morning worship service, let alone singing radio tunes in the car. I’ve been stopping myself from listening to certain songs because of the words. My sister and I drive around together a lot. Sometimes she’ll flip through different radio stations, and when she finds a song she recognizes she turns it up. A lot of times I’d have to say, “I don’t like that song” or “Do you what this song is saying?”

So when I heard the chorus, I started to sing it but I stopped myself. It’s not that I don’t want to say those words. It reminded me that words have power. Whatever I speak will have an effect, positively or negatively.

So what if I sing this song, and God did remove these comforts? What if He broke the familiar? I know it would completely change my life. If I sing these words I have to mean them. I think there needs to be a clear understanding of what we say and what we do. If we sing God I love You , we’d better mean it. When we worship we should open our hearts to God, because when we are true and honest with Him He will pour out on us.

